top of page

Friends of the forest orange biscuits dipped in chocolate

The other day I came back home and I felt really tired, britboy told me to sit down and relax but I felt the urge of trying my new set of biscuits cutter that my friend Lily kindly bought for me from Ikea (saving me to spend 4 hours in there, because everytime I go to Ikea is inevitable for me to spend a crazy amount of money and time. Conclusion: thanks Lily, you're lovely).

So, I took out all you need to make animal shaped oil biscuits and started to mix the ingredients, this is what came out after a few hours of work. A yummy bunch of animals dipped in dark chocolate, because dark chocolate makes everything better!

These animal biscuits are really doughty and it's a shame to eat them but I swear it's a treat that will make everyone happy and kids will have fun dipping them in chocolate just like my britboy did (he is not a kid but he's young at heart)!

ingredients:

310g flour (plus 30g to knead)

130g sugar

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 tb fresh orange juice

60ml bran or vegetable oil

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla or vanilla sugar

1 tsp orange zest

80g dark chocolate

method:

(dough from the hamantashen recipe of molly yeh)

  1. in a medium bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt

  2. in a large bowl whisk together the orange juice, oil, sugar, eggs, vanilla, and orange zest

  3. slowly stir in the flour mixture until the dough begins to come together

  4. knead the dough a few times on a lightly floured surface, until smooth (if too try add some orange juice, if too wet add some flour)

  5. divide into two balls and refrigerate for at least 3 hours or overnight

  6. preheat the oven to 180° and line a baking sheet with baking paper

  7. roll hald of the dought on a lightly floured surface to a 3mm tickness and cut out the animal shapes using the biscuits cutters

  8. cook for about 15 minutes and let cool on a wire rack

  9. melt the chocolate in a bowl suspended over a pan of simmering water

  10. dip the cooled biscuits into the chocolate then allow the excess to run off before placing on a wire rack or sheet of baking pape to set

Have fun and enjoy licking your fingers dipped in chocolate!

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Pinterest Clean Grey
RSS Feed
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page